Friday, July 1, 2011

Happy Canada Day

Parliament Buildings

Today we celebrate Canada Day. July first was known as Dominion Day until 1982 when a law was passed to change the name to Canada Day. The name is controversial because a quorum was not present in parliament when the law was passed.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police
The Dominion of Canada was created by an Act of British Parliament in 1867. It united four British provinces in North America, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick, creating a new country within the British Commonwealth. The six other provinces and three territories later joined.

The birth of the Dominion of Canada is not without controversy. For example, Halifax on July 1, 1867 draped major downtown buildings in black to signify mourning.

Changing of the Guard at Rideau Hall
Despite an inauspicious beginning, the country has not only survived, it has thrived. It is now among the eight largest industrial world economies.


  1. Great post and great photos.

  2. Vivianne,
    Thank you. I hope you had a wonderful Fourth of July holiday.
    Kind regards,


I'd love to hear your comments